Thread: Natural Light question

1. Natural Light question

Heidi, you mentioned there is no such thing as too much natural light. I think maybe you are right and I just need to change my camera's setting. How do I go around something like this.

I thought I had "too much light" see how his face is all white? What settings would help with a situation like that? Keep in mind I am a complete newbie at photography and might have to do a little reading to understand your answer LOL.

Thanks!

Michelle
    Michelle

From Downunder! My DD Gallery!
    Memory catcher: Canon IXUS 800 IS and Rebel/EOS 400D
    Creative tool: Photoshop CS 3

Hey Michelle,
    I am wondering what camera you have? If you have a camera with Program (P) mode you might want to play with that just to get a feel for the settings the camera chooses in given light situations. Really look at what the camera is choosing. It might not make sense right away but as you read and learn it will start to come together. I remember thinking I would NEVER understand manual settings. It is still elusive sometimes.

For this picture I probably would have chosen a faster shutter speed since you had lots of light. I also might have positioned the baby farther from the light source if it was really, really bright. I like to keep my aperture pretty wide open with babies because I like that look (sharp where I focus, blurry behind and in front of my focus point). Or, you could set your camera on Aperture priority mode (A) and set it to a wide open (smaller) number - the camera will figure out the shutter speed for you. When setting your aperture, keep in mind that a smaller number = a bigger opening and vice versa (confusing at first but you'll get the hang of that).