Thread: Scared out of my mind

Hybrid View

Scared out of my mind

My step-mom called yesterday and asked me to take their photos. I'm not a pro and don't feel like I'm very good. I would love to be a pro, but I don't feel like I have the personality for it. Setting up the shot with placing people seems very intimidating to me. To make it harder, my dad was in the military, so he doesn't smile in photos. EEK!

For the pros and amazing photographers out there, what do you suggest? I have three lenses (found in my siggie). I also know it depends on the shot, but what aperture should I shoot at? I don't want a batch of bad photos, nor do I want to waste their time, or mine!

Also, any great posing tips for a couple in their mid-early sixties?

I'm scared out of my mind. At least I'll be able to get them to look at the camera right?!?!
     photo BLINKIE_zpsf19a4128.gifDDblinkie! photo DDblinkie_zps0593abf9.gif
    My Camera - Canon 5D Mark II
    My Lenses - 24-70mm f/2.8, 50 mm f/1.4, 85mm f/1.8
    My Software - Photoshop CC, Lightroom 5, ACDSee 17

I hear you Kim, I would love to have that pro title too! I've done a lot of family shots on the side just for fun but it is totally intimidating but really fun. You can get a lot of neat photos with your 50mm. I've shot some parents with their kids sitting in front, and when you use the 50mm you can chose to keep the kids in focus and blur the parents or vise versa. Kinda neat. I'm guessing you will use your 24-70 for the majority. I would just keep it on aperture priority and open it up to allow the most light in, but if you're outside I guess you will have lots of light so you can take it at a higher aperture so they are all in focus. Hope any of that helps. Hmmm, hope the professionals jump in here

Melissa

All I can offer is good luck, Kim! I need to take a "How to use your camera" class...
    LoriS

My Gallery