Thread: Moving from point and shoot to DSLR...

Moving from point and shoot to DSLR...

Ladies, I am SO excited about the possibility of buying a DSLR. I have only ever had point and shoot cameras (but they have served me well) and with our household only being on a single wage, I never thought I would be getting a DSLR until I went back to work full time.

However, we may just be able to afford a second hand one (after a quick look on Ebay at prices) but I am not exactly sure what to look for???

I am leaning towards a Canon... not really sure why....

Any advice or tips on what to look for? What to stay clear of (especially if buying second hand)? Good entry level camera for me to get started with?

Thanks so much for your help and advice. I am a total newbie when it comes to the world of photography so I will be asking lots of questions if I do end up getting one...

You are all such experts here x
    Jenelle

My Gallery

DDblinkie! photo DDblinkie_zps0593abf9.gif

You will LOVE a DSLR!! Your p&s photography is so good, you will FLY with a DSLR!
    I bought my Canon 7D second hand on eBay. No problems. There is always a small risk that there could be a problem, but eBay has a buyer protection policy. I like to see clear photos of all sides of the camera to know it has no bumps and clear photos of the lens to see it has no scratches. I also like to know WHY they are selling, and if they don't say I email to ask.
    There are so many cameras and lenses on eBay from people who bought them thinking they would use them a lot and found they just sat in a cupboard. I suspect that some people buy the DSLRs and find they are more complicated than they realised.
    As for which camera... I love the idea of the touch screen on the 650D.
    Terrific sites for info include DigitalRev TV, Digital Photography Review and Canon & Nikon Digital SLR Camera and Lens Reviews at The-Digital-Picture.com
    Camera: Canon 7D, Olympus OM-D E-M5, Olympus TG2 (point and shoot)