Thread: RAW workflow?

RAW workflow?

This is for anyone who does their adjustments in RAW using Adobe Bridge, can you post a sample workflow? I just started shooting RAW and have a WhiBal card that I am using for white balance (which is great) but after that I feel like I'm going to screw the picture up if I do anything other than the auto exposure, etc. Let me know what you do and how. Thanks! Heidi

Golly Heidi - I shoot in RAW, but use auto WB - coz I don't own a card.

When I open the photo in PS, the RAW 'bit' starts up! I then adjust my WB by generally checking the AUTO button, and sometimes I tweak a little more. The I look at the exposure - mostly the exposure isn't too bad, but if it needs a little adjusting I do it then. I generally give the last option a valute of 10 (I can't remember what it is - something to do with colour!!), to make the colour pop a little bit more. Then I alt-click on OPEN - which lets me open a copy of the file, and I can continue working on it in PS.

Once in PS - I generally sharpen, and run an action on it, or add adjustment layers - in no particular order! I just play around until I find something I like!

I am sure someone will jump in with more instructionjs - but I hope these have given you a few tips!

3. I have to try RAW out...do the pictures really turn out all that great? I'm just wondering since it seems a bit more time consuming to get the picture to the "scrappable" stage...does it seem that way to you?

I've been happy with the result and I'm just doing some auto adjustment and a white balance adjustment in RAW. I think it allows you to tweak your photos without degrading the quality. That's how I understand it anyway. With my new WhiBal card it's so much easier to adjust my color in RAW than it is in JPEG format.

5. Classes on shooting RAW